Transforming Ownership In Times of Overlapping Crises


N-EXTLAW has worked with colleagues from Utrecht University to organise an academic conference titled ‘Transforming Ownership in Times of Overlapping Crises’ taking place in Amsterdam on October 5-6, 2023. The goal of this event is to bring together academics, policymakers and practitioners of transformative practices from across Europe, to discuss some of the most pressing issues regarding the legal frameworks underpinning private property and corporate ownership structures. This conference will serve as a platform to connect people working across different but related fields, with the planned output including a whitepaper (drawn from the contributions of speakers and panellists) which will be offered to the European Commission.

In Panel 1: Not-for-Profit Enterprises, chair Nena van der Horst (University of Amsterdam) will be joined by Jennifer Hinton (Lund University), Melanie Rieback (Radically Open Security), and Rasmus Kristian Feldhusen (Copenhagen University).

Panel 2: Steward-Owned Enterprises, will welcome chair Gijsbert Koren (We Are Stewards) will be joined by Anne Sanders (University of Bielefeld), Mike Kauffmann (Purpose Foundation), and Bart van Breukelen (TBI).

Panel 3: Back to Public Ownership will see Björn Hoops (University of Groningen, University of Turin), hosting Daniel Chavez (Transnational Institute), Ralf Hoffrogge (Ruhr Universität Bochum), and Vedran Horvat (Institute for Political Ecology).

In Panel 4: Worker Ownership, chair Jeroen Veldman (Nyenrode Business University), will be joined by Iñigo González Ricoy (University of Barcelona), Tej Gonza (Institute for Economic Democracy Slovenia), Dylan Paauwe (De Vrije Markt), and Peter Kosin (INEA).

Panel 5: Innovative Forms of Ownership will see chair Deborah Tappi (Amsterdam University of Applied Sciences), joined by Bertram Lomfeld (Free University of Berlin), Sophie Bloemen (Commons Network), Jasper Klapwijk (Independent), and Martin Schuurman (Tonify Exchange).

Panel 6: Worker Participation will host chair Alessandra Arcuri (Erasmus University Rotterdam)alongside Lisa Herzog (University of Groningen) and Sara Lafuente Hernández (European Trade Union Institute).

Finally, we will have a Roundtable where René Repasi (Member of European Parliament) will be joined by all panel chairs to reflect on these individual discussions in the wider context of the conference as a whole.

Please be aware that capacity is limited, so it’s first come, first served. To confirm your attendance and help us cover catering costs, a small conference fee is in place, which includes lunch and refreshments for both days. 

Follow these links for the full programme and for registration.

Leave a comment